Breaking my own rules

Sooner or later it had to come to this.  I had always told myself (and anyone who suggested otherwise) that I do not read book series.  I could handle one book, but the pressure (oh the pressure) to be in it for the long haul was too much.  So much for that.

A friend of mine was talking to me about Twilight and telling me how great it was and “here, just take the first book.  If you don’t like it, you don’t have to finish it”.  Right.  I blew through the whole series within 3 weeks and after that I convinced Pip to read it and he blew through it in even less time (and has re-read book 4, but you didn’t here it from me…well, actually you did…unless SOMEBODY HACKED MY BLOG!  We’ll go with that.)  I loved it and have decided that if series are that good then what have I been missing all these years!  I had read the first Mitford book years ago (loved it) and never when beyond the first book, so I got the second recently (because I’m breaking my rule).  It’s ok.  And now I feel like I have to finish it because I’m breaking my rule and I’m going to finish it dang it!  It’s not that I don’t like the second book.  It’s just not grabbing me and I’m back to feeling like I have to finish it because I broke my rule.  Dumb.  I think I should just do away with rules and read what I want.

For the record, I loved The Lord of the Rings Trilogy and raced through the books, but I could not for the life of me get into The Hobbit.  Go figure.  I am an anomaly.

Leave a comment

Filed under And let's just assume my eyes are rolling, Angst

Leave a Reply

