Dealing with it

Thanks for the responses.  It’s nice to know that you’re not the only one sometimes.  That said, for now we will be sticking with the school they’re in.  Compared with some of the other schools in the area, it really is a good school.  It’s far from the ideal, but it has a full time art and music program and those are rare these days.  The rest of the junk is stuff we’ll just have to get through.  I’ll keep you updated.

And on that note, Things that make me want to pull my kids out of public school #2:

TM has some mild speech issues.  They used to be major (stuttering) but that has gone away, and now he just has issues with “R” and “L”.  I was going to have him evaluated by the speech therapist at the school because it’s free, and that’s what our pediatrician suggested.  It’s a good thing I didn’t because here’s what I found out from another parent who had similar issues.  She went to talk to the therapist about her son and she tried to talk her out of it.  She told the mom that she has 8 schools that she works in and she’s lucky if she’s at our’s one day a week.  On that one day she can’t see all the kids she needs to.  But here’s the kicker.  Even if you have your child evaluated at the school (regardless of the outcome) the child is then labeled “Special Ed” for the REMAINDER OF THEIR SCHOOLING!  So yes, even if your kid turns out not to have a problem, they will still be treated as if they do.  And if they do have a speech issue that clears up, Oh Well, you still get that label.  I hate labels.  I really do.  I was absolutely stunned.  I think we’ll just work on the “R” and “L” issue at home thanks. 

1 Comment

Filed under Angst

One response to “Dealing with it

  1. I’m a speech therapist. The person you talked to was out of line to talk about her caseload being the reason your child wouldn’t be seen. The other person’s advice puzzles me. In New York State, a child with your child’s articulation can be seen informally under “Speech Improvement”. Very informal, more like tutoring, really. No record of it follows the student. An /l/ or /r/ misarticulation generally isn’t worrisome until a student is past the age of 8. At home you can model clear articulation when you read aloud. P.S. I like your blog, I’ll be back again for a visit.

Leave a Reply

