Kindergarten School Musical

 

DQ turned 6 last week, though it seemed like 16.  After a visit with her most admired cousin (we’ll call her Princess) DQ was begging to see High School Musical.  We put it on hold at the library and it came available the week of her birthday.  She knew every song after one viewing and started “wishing” audibly that she had the movie and the soundtrack.  We caved and she got exactly that for her birthday.  I have to say though, she almost didn’t get her wish.  The day before her birthday I went to pick her up from school.  The conversation went like this:

Me: “So how was your day?”

DQ: “Good.  Everyone knows I’m in love with B (name withheld).  Just like High School Musical.”

Me: “Um, Uh, you know you’re not really in love with him right?” RIGHT!?!?!?!?!?!

DQ: “Yeah, I just have a crush on him.”

She’s 6!!!  Where did she get all this dating lingo? AAAAGGGGGHHHHH!  I instantly thought, there is no way this child is getting this movie for her birthday.  In fact, I may return it to the library and insist they put a parental warning label on it for inappropriate content.  The thing is, it’s a really cute movie and there is no inappropriate content whatsoever.  I told Pip the whole story later that evening when we went shopping for her present, and he convinced me that the movie was not the problem (I mean, I watched and loved Grease at her age and you want to talk inappropriate content!).  He reminded me that I remember the names of every single one of my crushes from kindergarten on and I didn’t turn into a teenage prostitute.  But that was me and she’s 6…and my daughter!  I always thought Pip would have the big problems when she started dating, with all his talk of buying a gun and not being afraid to use it.  Now that I’m faced with it, Pip seems to be the level-headed one.  Go figure. 

She (DQ) told me today on the way to school that there are a couple of boys in her class that play “a weird game” on the playground involving spinning a water bottle and chasing the girl it points at to try and kiss her.  I thought I had a few more years before Spin the Bottle stories.  I feel like taking the batteries out of all the clocks in a desperate attempt to stop time.  I guess I should be happy that she tells me about this stuff.  I remember being about 9 or so and a boy at church had said that he wanted to sleep with me.  I was so horrified that I went catatonic and just cried.  It took my Mom hours to get me to explain what happened.  I wonder if she remembers that?  It makes me laugh now, but I might have to kill a kid if he ever says that to DQ when she’s 9, because I’ll be hiding in the bushes following her around in camo paint, carrying a gun.

2 Comments

Filed under And let's just assume my eyes are rolling, Angst, DQ and TM

2 responses to “Kindergarten School Musical

  1. Me

    SPIN THE BOTTLE?!?!?! ARE YOU SERIOUS?!?!?!

    IN KINDERGARTEN?!?!?!

    WHAT?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

  2. jen

    SCARY! What is this world coming to?! I hope I’m having another boy….and I hope they all grow up to be very uninterested in anything except football until they are at least 18….do you think thats asking too much? I guess if I DO have a girl, at least theres a chance she’ll turn out like me. Now thats REALLY SCARY!

Leave a Reply

