Where I’ve Been…




Where I’ve Been…

Originally uploaded by spuncrack.

So, I’ve been absent for awhile, but it has been for good reason. We had our ceiling scraped of all the cottage cheese looking stuff and painted. As you can see, it was a complete disaster.

About a year and a half ago, our ceiling leaked during a rainstorm and the roof was repaired, but the HOA dragged their feet in getting the 2 foot long rip in the ceiling of our living room replaced. They then wanted to just do a tape repair and put more cottage cheese up to replace the now drooping cottage cheese. Our landlord did not think that was acceptable and so began a war that lasted until last week, when the landlord hired someone to come in to scrape the ceiling. We had been warned that it would be a mess, but I really don’t think I knew what I would be facing. It took 3 and a half days to complete the job and it was BEYOND messy, as you can clearly see in the picture. The white dust you see on the floor was EVERYWHERE. He had put plastic sheeting up over all the openings to other rooms that were not being done, but alas, it did not deter the persistent lung clogging dust from covering every single item in my home. I thought I had finshed with the clean up, when I opened up a kitchen cabinet to get a pot to cook in and all of my pots and pans INSIDE the cabinets were covered in dust. If I possessed the ability to post more than one picture per entry I would show you a normal picture, but I haven’t figured that one out yet.

3 Comments

Filed under And let's just assume my eyes are rolling, Angst

3 responses to “Where I’ve Been…

  1. jen

    YUCK! I don’t envy you at all. Is it beautiful now though?

  2. Spuncrack

    It’s alright. I just keep asking myslf if it was worth it, if someone decides to break their own neck by bending it beyond the range of motion for humans to actually see that far up, to hear someone say, “Wow! Nice freshly scraped ceiling!”.

  3. jen

    Next time I’m there I will do that just for you!

Leave a Reply

